National Catholic Reporter

The Independent News Source

Reappointments to international theology commission

 |  NCR Today

Just off the wire:

Three US-based theologians reappointed to international commission

By Catholic News Service

VATICAN CITY (CNS) -- Three theologians who teach in the United States were appointed to second terms on the International Theological Commission, an advisory board to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

The three, appointed to new five-year terms by Pope Benedict XVI July 25, are:

Order a gift subscription to NCR, and we'll throw in a little something extra for you. Learn more

  • Sr. Sara Butler, a member of the Missionary Servants of the Most Blessed Trinity, who teaches dogmatic theology at the New York Archdiocese's St. Joseph's Seminary in Yonkers.

  • Nigerian Fr. Peter Damian Akpunonu, a professor of biblical exegesis at the University of St. Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary in Chicago.

  • British Msgr. Paul McPartlan, a professor of systematic theology and ecumenism at The Catholic University of America in Washington.

In 2004 Butler and Barbara Hallensleben, a German laywoman who teaches dogmatic theology at the University of Fribourg, Switzerland, became the first women named to the International Theological Commission. Hallensleben also was appointed to a second term July 25.

The commission also has one layman as a member: Johannes Reiter, a professor of moral theology at the University of Mainz, Germany, who also was appointed to a new term.


NCR Email Alerts


In This Issue

November 20-December 3, 2015


Some articles are only available in the print newspaper and Kindle edition.